Welcome to Mica Mountain

We’re currently working on our new website. Until that’s ready, please check this page for the latest information on the building process, enrollment, transportation, and everything else related to Mica Mountain. Go Bolts!

Mica Mountain High School
Philosophy & Expectations

Provide students with a wide-range of opportunities through academics, activities, fine arts and athletics in order to:

Develop well-rounded students 

Emphasize character and soft skills

Provide the foundation for future employability


Registration

Online Registration for current Vail students: Open now through April 3, 2020
Attached is the registration information for each grade level of current Vail students:
CLASS OF 2022 | CLASS OF 2023 | CLASS OF 2024
In-Person Registration Support: As the Coronavirus outbreak restrictions continue, this date has been postponed.
We will keep you informed if we are able to reschedule.

New student to the district?
Contact Pam Scanlon our District Enrollment Coordinator
at 520-879-3982 or email at scanlonp@vailschooldistrict.org

Mica Mountain Course Description Guide
Click Here

Open Enrollment or Transfer

About Mica Mountain

Currently under construction

Location: 10800 E. Valencia Road
Grand Opening: July 2020
Mascot: Thunderbolts
School Colors: MM Blue, Silver, Black

Important Dates

Meet Staff & Coaches

When: Thursday, May 7th, 2020
Where: Rincon Vista Middle School gym from 6:00 PM – 7:00 PM

Save the Dates

July 20th- Sophomore & Junior Student Check-In Day & Tours
July 21st- Freshman Student Check-In Day & Tours (please bring two proofs of residency with you)
July 22nd- Student Check-In Day & Tours for those that could not attend on July 20th or July 21st
*More information about these dates to come.

Events

Inaugural Thunderbolt Golf Tournament
When: Saturday, October 24th, 2020
Where: Rancho Del Lago Golf Course
Time: 10:00 AM Shotgun start for Tournament
Proceeds Benefit Mica Mountain Activities, Fine Arts and Athletes
Click Here for Tournament Flyer and more information.

Transportation Zones

General Information

Academic Programs and Offerings

-Advanced Placement | Dual Enrollment | Laptops for students (one to one)

Same graduation requirements as Vail’s other high schools | Special Education

Career and Technical Education 

Culinary & Hospitality | Early Childhood Education | Engineering | Navy Jr. ROTC

Digital Photography Documentary (Yearbook) | Sports Medicine | Welding

Other Electives

Spanish | American Sign Language (future) | Other World Languages (future w/ growth) | Science Electives

Strength & Conditioning | General P.E./ Fitness

Fine Arts

Full Instrumental Music Program including Band, Marching Band, and Orchestra

Choir | Drama | Visual Arts

Athletics

Fall Season: Football | Girls Volleyball | Swim & Dive | Golf | Cheer |Cross Country

Winter Season: Basketball | Wrestling | Soccer            

Spring Season: Softball | Baseball | Track & Field | Boys Volleyball (In year 3)

Unique Aspects of Mica Mountain High School

Full Comprehensive High School | Student Union | Collaboration Spaces

Excellence in the three A’s (Academics, Activities, Athletics)

Thunderbolt Advanced Scholar Academy for Highly Motivated Students looking to attend Selective Colleges

Online Library | Mica Mountain Leadership Course

Staff

Principal, Nemer Hassey | 520-879-3804 | hasseyn@vailschooldistrict.org
Aguilar, Oscar | Security | oscaraguilar70@gmail.com
Arnone, Ryan | Social Studies – SPED | arnoner@vailschooldistrict.org
Bitler, Laura | English Teacher | bitlerl@vailschooldistrict.org
Blanco, Felix | Athletic Trainer-CTE Sports Med. Teacher | blancof@vailschooldistrict.org
Burton, Amy | Volunteer Coordinator | burtona@vailschooldistrict.org
Campos, Jay | Assistant Principal|camposjay@vailschooldistrict.org
Crawford, Charlene | Senior Lab Tech | crawfordc@vailschooldistrict.org
Crusa, Sandra | Science Teacher | crusas@vailschooldistrict.org
Darling, Brett | Social Studies Teacher | darlingb@vailschooldistrict.org
De La O, Amy | Culinary Teacher| dellaoa@vailschooldistrict.org
Farr, Josh | Science Teacher | farrj@vailschooldistrict.org
Farr, Kim | Science Teacher | farrk@vailschooldistrict.org

Gallagher, Caitlin | Inclusion Parapro. | gallagherc@vailschooldistrict.org
Good, Kathy | Bookstore Manager | goodk@vailschooldistrict.org
Graham, Dainah | AP Scholar-Teacher | grahamd@vailschooldistrict.org
Holland, Whitney | Athletic Director | hollandw@vailschooldistrict.org
Isom, Denise | Health Aide | isomd@vailschooldistrict.org
Jeffries, William (WT) | English Teacher | jeffriesw@vailschooldistrct.org
Jones, David | Site Technology Coordinator | jonesd@vailschooldistrict.org
Keck, Nancy | Workroom Manager | keckn@vailschooldistrict.org
Kuhn, Amy | English & Visual Art Teacher | kuhna@vailschooldistrict.org
Mari, Juanita | Admin Assistant / Communications Coordinator | marij@vailschooldistrict.org
Matsushino, Brittany | Student Achievement Teacher | matsushinob@vailschooldistrict.org
Matsushino, Jim | Music Teacher | matsushinoj@vailschooldistrict.org
Mayfield, William | Paraprofessional | mayfieldw@vailschooldistrict.org

Mischel, Anka | Fine Arts Teacher | mischela@vailschooldistrict.org
Mooney, Sandra | Office Manager | mooneys@vailschooldistrict.org
Morrison, Sandi | Office Clerk | morrisons@vailschooldistrict.org
Muskiet, Vinnie | Special Education Specialist | muskietv@vailschooldistrict.org
Newman, Sharon | Math Teacher | newmans@vailschooldistrict.org
Neumann, Danielle | Social Studies/ Head Cheer Coach | neumannd@vailschooldistrict.org
Newton, Theresa | Inclusion Parapro.| newtonth@vailschooldistrict.org
Patterson, Christopher | Health Teacher | pattersonc@vailschooldistrict.org
Penland, Matt | Math Teacher | penlandm@vailschooldistrict.org
Perham, Tobi | Paraprofessional | perhamt@vailschooldistrict.org
Poirier, Hailey | Resource Parapro.| poirierh@vailschooldistrict.org
Rich, Chris | Principals Secretary | richc@vailschooldistrict.org
Rivera, Elisa | Spanish Teacher | riverae@vailschooldistrict.org
Roznovsky, Garrett | Life Skills Parapro. | roznovskyga@vailschooldistrict.org
Scott, Keith | Strength and Conditioning Teacher | scottke@vailschooldistrict.org
Smith, Terri | Secretary to Assistant Principal & Athletics | smitht@vailschooldistrict.org
Stickney, Gretchen | Math Teacher | stickneyg@vailschooldistrict.org
Taggart, Elizabeth | Administrative Assistant | taggarte@vailschooldistrict.org
Tritz, John | Counselor | tritzj@vailschooldistrict.org
Voyles, DaMaris | Paraprofessional | voylesd@vailschooldistrict.org
Webb, Claudette | Character & Leadership Education | webbc@vailschooldistrict.org
Wilson, Julie | TSW Lead Teacher | wilsonj@vailschooldistrict.org
Wittoesch, Christopher | Special Education Specialist | wittoeschc@vailschooldistrict.org
Youngquist, Jim | TSW Job Coach | youngquistj@vailschooldistrict.org

Planning Site Council / Meeting Minutes

Tameika Symonds (Chair) | Catherine Byars (Clerk)

Chris Rich | Gretchen Stickney | Cathy Ochoa | Brittany Matsushino | Jim Matsushino | Mindy Darling

Sandra Mooney | Sandra Crusa | Andrea Black | Wendy Clark | Jayden Thoreson

Vivian Rottler | Molly Aitken | Ava Chesebrough

Photo Gallery

Videos